Skip to content

Lincoln Park Zoo

July 11, 2012

By Daniel Murray

Midtown Reporter

Tiger at Linoln Park Zoo.

Have you ever been to Chicago’s Lincoln Park Zoo? Lincoln Park Zoo was founded in 1868, making it one of the oldest zoos in the nation. The land area includes 35 acres and 1,250 animals. Besides animals, Lincoln Park has a variety of stores, restaurants, and a pond where you can rent a boat.

My favorite animals are the wildcats and giraffes. I enjoy seeing these animals because I get to learn more about them and see them live rather than in paper or TV. At Lincoln Park Zoo they have animal information helping you to learn basic information about the animals such as life span, habitats and group they belong to. Every time I go there, I learn a new lesson.

Lincoln Park Zoo is fairly large and has a good selection of animals, ranging from birds to giraffes. Whenever I’m bored and I can’t think of a good place to visit I always mention the zoo as my first option I do this because it is free, and it is open 365 days a year. It is always relaxing and has many indoor buildings you can use in severe weather. During the winter time they have a lights show, starting from Christmas up until New Year.

Unlike most attractions, the zoo is open 365 days a year, and it is always free.

What I like about wildcats is that they have a big selections. These include cougars, leopards, lions and tigers. Of all those animals I like cougars more.  Cougars have more than one name. Leopards really interest me because they have more than one habitat. In fact there’s even one that is called a snow leopard, and at the same time a leopard that lives in dry places like the desert. The other thing that I like about all these cats is that they are always light colored, whereas wild dogs are not. And depending on the animal they have unique, creative patterns on their bodies. Lastly, male lions have hair in their heads and female lions are hairless. That’s the opposite of how it normally is in humans.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

